cockermouth logo
Malcolm Wilson Rally 2009

Kick Energy rally driver Steve Perez scored a sensational debut victory on
the 2009 Malcolm Wilson Rally after a day of drama in the forests of the Lake

Driving the Ford Focus WRC with Scotsman Kevin Rae on the notes, the
Chesterfield businessman was doing battle in the back yard of two of his
rivals, M-Sport boss Malcolm Wilson and arch rival Paul Bird.
Sponsoring both of their respective World Rally and World Superbike teams,
Perez was up against Wilson, who was in action in the 2WD Ford Escort, but
the main chalice was that of Bird who has won the event three times.

However, the battle failed to materialise when Bird crashed out on SS2
leaving Perez to battle with BTRDA regulars Hugh Hunter (Ford Focus WRC) and
Will Nicholls (Subaru WRC).

1 Steve Perez/Kevin Rae Ford Focus WRC 44:24
2 Will Nicholls/Nick Broom Subaru Impreza WRC 44:49
3 David Wright/Michael Wilkinson Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9 45:16
4 Tim Pearcey/Robin Hernaman Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9 46:10
5 Michael O'Brien/Paul Spooner Ford Focus WRC 46:12
6 Jonathan Greer/Anthony O'Conaill Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 9 46:15
7 Paul Benn/Richard Cooke Ford Focus WRC 46:22
8 Nigel Griffiths/Josh Burton Subaru Impreza 46:33
9 David Weston jnr/Neil Shanks Subaru Impreza 46:43
10 Stephen Simpson/Patrick Walsh Hyundai Accent WRC 47:02